Flo McGarrell and Living to the Fullest


© Inside the Artist’s Studio: Flo McGarrell | August 28th, 2009 | by Georgia Kotretsos

I’ve never met Flo but a lot of my friends have, or my friends are friends with his friends, that sort of thing.  When I found out that he died in Haiti, I found myself wanting to know more about this person who everyone seemed to love and respect so much.  One link I found was to an article/interview on the Art 21 blog from August 2009.  He spoke really intelligently about being an artist and said so many things that resonated with me, including this:

I have a few guiding principles, which I think must propel me toward this artistic freedom you speak about:

* Don’t hide, don’t lie.
* Do that which scares me.
* Resist the urge to settle.
* Be as many things as possible in this lifetime.

That kind of hit me in the gut.  It seems so simple, but living by these principles can prove to be incredibly difficult, at least for me.  Are certain people somehow more capable of living this freely or can it be learned?  I want do what scares me.  I want to be as many things as possible while I’m alive.  But sometimes I worry that I don’t dream big enough.  I’m making it a priority this year to take some big risks and see more things and make more art.  I can’t afford to spend any more time not living my life to the fullest.

I wish I had known Flo.  He seemed to have changed the lives of everyone he met.

More articles/sites on Flo:

NPR – Haiti’s Arts City Loses Much But Retains Vision

Going with Flo – Flo McGarrell Memorial Blog

Flo’s Website

